There are serious consequences to any felony conviction in Oklahoma. Be convicted of a felony and you may be sentenced to spend time in a state penitentiary and ordered to pay stiff fines. In addition, having a felony conviction on your record will make it more difficult to find employment, rent property, or work in some professions. Furthermore, you will lose certain civil rights, most importantly, your right to vote. Read further to learn what a felony DUI is in Tahlequah, Oklahoma, its specific consequences and which factors factor may aggravate the charge.
When is a DUI a Felony in Tahlequah, Oklahoma?
Most DUI charges in Tahlequah, Oklahoma are classified as misdemeanors, but a DUI may be charged as a felony under the following circumstances:
- It is your second DUI arrest in a 10-year period.
- It is your third or subsequent DUI arrest.
- Your DUI resulted in substantial bodily injury or the death of another.
- There was a child in your vehicle at the time of your DUI arrest.
How Felony DUI is Penalized in Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Felony DUI convictions are penalized more severely than misdemeanor DUI offenses, which are punishable by a $1,000 fine and no more than a year in a county jail.
The penalty for a felony DUI conviction in Tahlequah, Oklahoma will be a combination of the following:
- A suspended driver’s license.
- A minimum of 1 year and up to 20 years in a state penitentiary.
- Up to $7,500 in fines.
- Mandatory alcohol and drug treatment.
- Community service.
- An ignition interlock device placed on your car for up to eight years.
Factors That Aggravate a Felony DUI Charge in Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Certain factors pertaining to the nature of your DUI arrest tend to aggravate the offense and increase the severity of the punishment you will receive if convicted. The most common of these factors are:
- Having been convicted of any prior alcohol-related offenses (DUI, DWI, DUI-D, or APC).
- Having a blood alcohol content (BAC) above .15 at the time of your arrest.
- Causing an accident or bodily injury to another as a result of the offense.
- Having a child in the car during the offense.
A DUI charge should never be taken lightly. After a first DUI conviction, a subsequent arrest in a 10-year period can be charged as a felony; this is subject to a minimum of a year in prison and a fine of up to $7,500. So, it is important to avoid ever being convicted of a DUI in Oklahoma. Contact an experienced Tahlequah Oklahoma DUI attorney to help you fight a DUI offense as soon as you are charged.
Free Consultation: Tahlequah Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you or someone you know is facing a criminal charge, please contact a Tahlequah criminal defense lawyer to discuss your available legal options.
For a free consultation, call Wirth Law Office – Tahlequah at 918-458-2677 or toll free at 1-888-447-7262.
Or, if you prefer e-mail, you may enter a legal question in the form at the top right of this page and we’ll contact you by e-mail as soon as possible.