No one can dispute that having a car is a necessity in any town or city in Oklahoma. However, you must have a valid license to drive in Tahlequah.
If you’ve had your license revoked or suspended, or never had a valid license, and continue to drive, you may find yourself with a no drivers license ticket Oklahoma.
This can lead not only additional problems with your driving privileges, but also to hefty fines or even jail time. Thus, you should speak with a Tahlequah attorney right away.
About A Driving With No License Charge
Driving without a driver’s license is illegal, even if you were driving safely at the time you were caught. Okla. Stat. tit. 47. § 6-303
You can have your criminal charges dismissed, however, if you produce a copy of your valid driver’s license on or before your court date.
Penalties For A No Drivers License Ticket Oklahoma
Anyone charged and convicted of a no drivers license ticket Oklahoma will be guilty of a misdemeanor crime. Each act of driving on the highways as prohibited shall constitute a separate offense.
He or she will face the following penalties :
- For a first conviction, a fine between $100 and $500;
- For a second conviction, a fine between $200 and $750; and
- For a third or subsequent conviction, a fine between $300 and $1,000, or up to a year in jail, or both.
Free Consultation: Tahlequah Traffic Defense Lawyer
Although generally minor, getting caught driving without a license can get serious.
If you or someone you know is facing this charge, please contact a Tahlequah criminal defense lawyer to discuss your available legal options.
For a free consultation, call Wirth Law Office – Tahlequah at 918-458-2677 or toll free at 1-888-447-7262.
Or, if you prefer e-mail, you may enter a legal question in the form at the top right of this page and we’ll get in touch with you by e-mail as soon as possible.